Berlin Declaration of the Weimar Triangle - News - National Security Bureau


Berlin Declaration of the Weimar Triangle

The President of the French Republic, the President of the Republic of Poland and the Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany convened on 8 February 2022 in Berlin.

Berlin Declaration of the Weimar Triangle

The leaders of the „Weimar Triangle“ underscored their joint commitment to the European and Transatlantic security architecture. They emphasized their commitment to the principles enshrined in various documents of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The leaders call on Russia to de–escalate the situation at the Ukrainian border and engage in a meaningful dialogue on security on the European continent. They underscore that any further military aggression by Russia against Ukraine will have massive consequences and severe costs.

France, Poland and Germany express willingness to engage constructively in meaningful and result–oriented discussions on security issues of mutual concern. They will continue to coordinate closely, together with EU partners and NATO Allies, to ensure peace and stability in the Euro–Atlantic area.

In line with the Alliance’s dual–track approach the leaders agreed that the Alliance needs to continuously keep its deterrence and defence posture under review and be ready to adapt as necessary to a further deterioration of the security environment, including in the framework of NATO’s enhanced forward presence.

The leaders expressed grave concern about Russia’s build–up of armed forces in and around Ukraine; they reiterated their support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine and commended Ukraine’s posture of continued restraint and diplomatic approach. They encourage diplomatic efforts and support the Normandy format in achieving the Minsk Agreements.

The members of the “Weimar Triangle” will remain engaged with all concerned parties to uphold the security and stability in the region and the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine.